Odyssey presents MAKROKOSMOS

Friday, May 02, 2014

Ticket Information

$20 General Admission / $10 Student with I.D. / Free Children Under 12

Additional Images

7:00 PM
Presented By
Odyssey Chamber Music Series
Event Type
Event Contact
Ayako Tsuruta, Artistic Director
Contact Email
5.02.2014   MAKROKOSMOS
Friday at 7pm, First Baptist Church
This momentous Season 10 ends with a program that features three musically related composers: Jennifer Margaret Barker's "Na Tri Peathraichean (The Three Sisters...of Glencoe)" (2000) for flute and piano reflects poetic colors from her mentor George Crumb. William J. Lackey, who studied with Barker, has been commissioned a work for two pianos and percussion for a program that reflects Crumb's "Makrokosmos III: Music for a Summer Evening." Join us for our season finale reception after the concert!

$20 General Admission | $10 Student | FREE Children 12 and under. 
                                                                                          Tickets are also available for purchase at the door beginning 6:30pm.

Julia Gaines, Peter Miyamoto, Brian Tate, Ayako Tsuruta
Jennifer Margaret Baker, George Crumb, William J. Lackey

May 2, 2014
Friday at 7pm  First Baptist Church in Columbia

Jennifer Margaret Barker
Na Trì Peathraichean (2000) [ca. 16'00]
I. Gearr Aonach
II. Aonach Dubh
III. Beinn Fhada
Alice K. Dade, flute; Ayako Tsuruta, piano

William J. Lackey (b. 1976)
New composition for two pianos and percussion (2014)
Julia Gaines and Brian Tate, percussion; Peter Miyamoto and Ayako Tsuruta, piano


George Crumb (b. 1929)
Makrokosmos III: Music for a Summer Evening (1974) [ca. 35'00]
   I. Nocturnal Sounds (The Awakening)
   II. Wanderer-Fantasy
   III. The Advent (including Hymn for the Nativity of the Star-Child)
   IV. Myth
   V. Music for the Starry Night
Julia Gaines and Brian Tate, percussion; Peter Miyamoto, piano I; Ayako Tsuruta, piano II

Season Finale Reception will follow!

First Baptist Church
1112 E Broadway
Columbia, MO