Rueibin Chen: Total Rachmaninoff

Saturday, December 07, 2013

Ticket Information

Additional Images

8:00 PM
Event Type
Event Contact
Rueibin Chen
Contact Email

On Dec. 8th (Sat.) 2013, at the Renée & Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall in Southern California, I will give a piano solo recital of Rachmaninoff's compositions and transcriptions. It is the Southern California leg of my 2013 world tour commemorating the 70th anniversary of the great composer's passing. Among the program will be the rarely-heard "Three Nocturnes" by Rachmaninoff.

Program includes:
Rachmaninoff : Prelude in G Major Op. 32 No. 5
Rachmaninoff : Prelude in G-sharp Minor Op. 32 No. 12
Rachmaninoff : Prelude in D Major Op. 23 No. 4
Rachmaninoff : Three Nocturnes Op. 1 (California Premiere), No. 1 in F-sharp Minor, No. 2 in F Major, No. 3 in C Minor
Rachmaninoff : Etude-Tableau in D Major Op. 39 No. 9
Bizet-Rachmaninoff : Minuet from L'Arlésienne
Tchaikovsky-Rachmaninoff : Lullaby
Kreisler-Rachmaninoff : Liebesleid
Kreisler-Rachmaninoff : Liebesfreud

Described as an artist who "plays with the white-hot energy, steel-fingered, power and athletic virtuosity... has impetuosity and undeniably impressive technique.” The world-renowned Taiwanese-Austrian pianist Rueibin Chen has successfully showed that he can play with delicacy and imagination. As the youngest prize winner of the International Rachmaninoff Piano Competition, Chen is deeply influenced by his teacher, Lazar Berman, who is descended from Liszt, Siloti, Goldenweiser and Rachmaninoff. The tour “Total Rachmaninoff” is named after Rachmaninoff and is held in honor of the 140th anniversary of his birth.

Renée & Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall
600 Town Center Drive
Costa Mesa, CA