Vibrations: Featuring New Work for String Quartet by Gernot Wolfgang

Saturday, May 04, 2013

Ticket Information

Tickets: $59

Call 213-534-3434

This includes a post-concert wine and food reception with the artists

4:00 PM
Presented By
Pacific Serenades
Event Type
Event Contact
Valerie Miller
Contact Email

Pacific Serenades continues its 27th season with a world premiere for string quartet by composer Gernot Wolfgang. The program will be an inspired mix of music, including Smetana’s, String Quartet No.2 in D minor and Haydn’s String Quartet in B minor Op. 64, No. 2.  The performers comprising the quartet are Roger Wilkie (violin), Connie Kupka (violin), Roland Kato (viola) and David Speltz (cello), all well-known to Los Angeles classical music fans for their musical brilliance.   For information and tickets, please visit or call 213-534-3434.


Born in Austria, Gernot Wolfgang currently resides in Los Angeles.  He is a graduate of the Scoring Music for Film and TV at USC and holds degrees from Berklee College of Music and the University of Music in Graz, Austria.  His concert works have been presented by LA Phil, the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra and many others.   Wolfgang is active in Los Angeles as a composer for film and television, and acts as artistic advisor to “HEAR NOW-A Festival of New Music by Contemporary Los Angeles Composers.”

In String Theory, his new composition for Pacific Serenades, Wolfgang has taken his inspiration from the complex idea of the duality of superstring theory relationships.  According to the composer, “My piece mirrors the idea now embraced by some scientists that because of transformations call dualities, two superstring theories could be viewed as two different mathematical descriptions of the same thing.  In this new work, musical devices which are used in one movement also pop up in other movements, creating an inner network of sorts, therefore creating different musical descriptions of the same thing.”

Gramophone describes Gernot Wolfgang as a composer with a “winning sonic arsenal”, while jazz legend Dave Brubeck characterized Gernot’s music as being of “unconventional beauty”.  Richard Ginell, writing for the Los Angeles Times, said “Where ever your imagination takes you, Gernot provides the fuel.  This is his second piece for Pacific Serenades.

Ensemble Name
Pacific Serenades
Roger Wilkie (violin), Connie Kupka (violin), Roland Kato (viola), David Speltz (cello)
Franz Josef Haydn, Bedrich Smetana and Gernot Wolfgang

Smetana             String Quartet No. 2 in D minor

Haydn                 String Quartet in B minor, Op 64, No. 2          

Gernot Wolfgang  String Theory: New Work for String Quartet

Private Home in Los Angeles
Address disclosed upon reservation
Los Angeles, CA