Women Composers Around the World

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Ticket Information

Free and Open to the Public

7:37 PM
Presented By
Skokie Public Library
Event Type
Event Contact
Tom Clowes

In celebration of International Women's Day, The Skokie Public Library presents Crossing Borders Music in a performance of chamber music by women composers from Taiwan, Venezuela, Haiti, the Chickasaw Nation, Nigeria, and the US! In addition to unforgettable music in many styles, we'll share the composers' perspectives on how being a women has affected - or hasn't affected - their lives in music. The program will include "Yeah... I Hit Like a Girl" by Amanda John, Teresa CarreƱo's String Quartet, Yi Yiing Chen's "The Island, "L'homme durci" and "La fille dans les nuages" ("The Hardened Man"and "The Girl in the Clouds") from Portraits by Brittany J. Green, Oluchi Edmund's "Children of Africa," and "L'odeur du cafe" ("The Smell of Coffee") by Sabrina C D Jean Louis
The concert is free and open the the public.
This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.
This project is partially supported by a grant from the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events.

Ensemble Name
Crossing Borders Music

Skokie Public Library
5215 Oakton St
Skokie, IL
(847) 673-7774
Venue URL