Nomination Deadline: 10/20/17

The CMAcclaim Award brings national recognition to an individual, ensemble, or organization whose work has had a significant impact on a local or regional community, and does not normally receive national media attention.


Any CMA member may make a nomination, but the nominee need not be a CMA member. Self-nominations or nominations by staff or Board members of the organization to be nominated are not eligible.


2018 Nomination Form

Sample Nomination Form

Award Recipients


CMA/ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming

Application Deadline: To Be Announced:

The CMA/ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming recognize ensembles and presenters for outstanding and innovative approaches to the programming of contemporary classical, jazz, and world chamber music.


The 2017 award recipients will receive $500 and a commemorative plaque, and will be honored in New York City at the CMA National Conference, January 4-7, 2017.


Ensemble Awards

One award is given in each of the following categories:

·  Contemporary—for groups specializing in contemporary classical chamber music

·  Jazz—for groups performing their own chamber jazz compositions and/or contemporary works by other jazz composers

·  Mixed Repertory—for groups performing both traditional and contemporary classical chamber music


Presenter Awards

Two awards—one to a large presenter (more than 10 concerts per year) and one to a small presenter (5–10 concerts)—are given in each of the following categories:

·  Contemporary—for presenters programming primarily contemporary classical chamber music 

·  Jazz—for presenters programming primarily contemporary chamber jazz

·  Mixed Repertory—for presenters programming contemporary classical, along with traditional classical, jazz, and world chamber music

Award Recipients


Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award


Named in honor of former CMA Board Chairman Richard J. Bogomolny in recognition of his outstanding leadership from 1987 to 1996, this award is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the chamber music field. Recipients of the award have included exceptional performers, teachers, coaches, arts administrators, presenters, and others who have enriched our national culture by fostering a greater appreciation for chamber music.

Award Recipients


Cleveland Quartet Award


Culminating a remarkable twenty-six-year history as an ensemble, the members of the Cleveland Quartet envisioned a lasting legacy for young musicians. They joined forces in 1995 with Chamber Music America and eight prominent chamber music presenters to found the Cleveland Quartet Award and to raise funds for the establishment of the Cleveland Quartet Endowment Fund.

Given biennially, the award honors and promotes a rising young string quartet whose artistry demonstrates that it is in the process of establishing a major career. Providing the quartet with concert appearances on chamber music series around the country, the award enriches the presenters' offerings while helping outstanding young artists gain wide recognition.

Concert presenters of the Cleveland Quartet Award winners are:

Buffalo Chamber Music Society (Buffalo, NY)
Carnegie Hall (New York, NY)
Chamber Music Society of Detroit (Detroit, MI)
Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery (Washington, D.C.)
Friends of Chamber Music (Kansas City, MO)
Market Square Concerts (Harrisburg, PA)
Krannert Center at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Urbana, IL)
University of Texas at Austin (Austin, TX)

Nominations for the Cleveland Quartet Award are submitted confidentially to Chamber Music America by a national roster of chamber musicians, presenters, and educators. The winning string quartet's presentations and performances are funded by income from the Cleveland Quartet Award Endowment Fund.

Award Recipients


More Information



Gina Izzo, Manager of Public Programs

CMA/ASCAPAwards for Adventurous Programming

Susan Dadian, Program Director, CMA Classical/Contemporary