Not a member yet? Join now!
Forgot your password? Click here.

The Society for New Music's Brian Israel winners for 2012 are Ted Goldman and Joseph N. Rubinstein. Honorable Mentions go to Justin Paul Jaramillo, Brandon Luis Ridenour, Haralabos Stafylakis, and Amit Menahem Gilutz. Both Goldman and Rubinstein graduated from Columbia University and both attended Juilliard, the first time in the 25 years of the prize that the winners have come from the same schools. The Israel winners were selected from scores submitted by composers from throughout New York State.

Often the Israel prize is the first prize these young composers win in their careers. That was the case with Andy Akiho, a 2008 winner, who just recently won the eighth blackbird national competition, a commission from the NY Philharmonic for premiere on Dec. 21-22, and just last month, a Chamber Music America commission.