January 12–15, 2017
Westin New York at Times Square


New Music from CMA Concert

Hear three new works, created with support from CMA's classical and jazz commissioning programs, funded through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Sunday, January 15, 2017 | 3:00–5:00PM | DiMenna Center for Classical Music
Free and Open to the Public


Etienne Charles
ENSEMBLE: Etienne Charles Project
COMMISSION: San Jose Suite (2016)
by Etienne Charles

Etienne Charles, trumpet
Godwin Louis, alto saxophone
Alex Wintz, guitar
Victor Gould, piano
Barry Stephenson, bass
John Davis, drums


Turtle Island Quartet
ENSEMBLE: Turtle Island Quartet
COMMISSION: Aeroelasticity; Harmonies Of Impermanence (2016)
by David Balakrishnan

David Balakrishnan, violin
Alex Hargreaves, violin
Benjamin von Gutzeit, viola
Malcolm Parson, cello


Helen Sung Group
ENSEMBLE: Helen Sung Group
COMMISSION: Sung with Words (2016)
by Helen Sung

Helen Sung, piano
Chris Cheek, saxophone
Marcus Printup, trumpet
Boris Kozlov, bass
Darrell Green, drums
Samuel Torres, percussion
Jean Baylor & Christie Dashiell, vocals


© 2016 Chamber Music America