Friday, November 30, 2012

Ticket Information

8:00 PM
Presented By
Touhill Center for the Performing Arts
Event Type
New Music
Event Contact
Meg Fagan
Contact Email

Kammerraku® is groundbreaking new chamber music for string quartet with Japanese instruments – koto, shakuhachi and shamisen – an evocative, exciting sound blending two timeless musical traditions.The program features four commissions from Kyo-Shin-An Arts, each with its own distinctive character and instrumentation. From the romanticism of Daron Hagen’s operatic story for koto, to the lingering soundscape of Somei Satoh’s evocative sextet, from the elegant craft of Paul Moravec, to the rhythmic intensity of James Nyoraku Schlefer, experience unique beauty when two classical traditions meet in a new musical world.

Ensemble Name
Kyo-Shin-An Arts ans the Arianna Quartet
Yumi Kurosawa, koto; Yoko Reikano Kimura, shamisen; James Nyoraku Schlefer, shakuhachi

KYO-SHIN-AN ARTS “Kammerraku” – a program of KSA commissions.

Yoko Reikano Kimura, Shamisen

Yumi Kurosawa, 20-String Koto

James Nyoraku Schlefer, Shakuhachi

Arianna Quartet

DARON HAGEN:  Koto Concerto: Genji (koto and quartet)

PAUL MORAVEC: Shakuhachi Quintet (shakuhachi and quartet) – a Meet the Composer Commission

SOMEI SATOH:  KyoShin (koto, shakuhachi and quartet)

JAMES NYORAKU SCHLEFER:  String Journey (shamisen and quartet)

Touhill Center for the Performing Arts
University of Missouri St. Louis
St. Louis, MO